Prof Philip Sambrook Young Investigator Travel Award

The Professor Philip Sambrook Award is presented annually to an outstanding early career researcher and is announced at the annual Australia and New Zealand Bone and Mineral Annual Scientific Meeting.  Successful applicants must be passionate about bone research, results driven and committed to giving back to the community.

Professor Sambrook was the inaugural Medical Director of Osteoporosis Australia who helped build the organisation from its inception. He was past-president of the ANZBMS and a strong advocate in all areas of research and public awareness regarding bone health and osteoporosis in Australia. His commitment and passion have greatly benefited the Australian nation and will continue to influence us for years to come.

Professor Sambrook helped establish the Osteoporosis Australia-ANZBMS Research Fund that has in turn given rise to this award, to recognise his achievements and inspire similar accomplishments in other researchers.


This award offers a valuable opportunity for an early career scientist or clinical researcher to present their work at an overseas (not NZ) conference.


Award Amount
• Up to $10,000 (AUD) is offered to cover flights, registration, accommodation and related expenses.

Eligibility Criteria
• The award is open to both laboratory scientists and clinical researchers.
• Applicants must have received their higher degree (i.e PhD, FRACP) within the past 5 years (full-time equivalent).
• Applicants must be a financial member of ANZBMS or ARA for at least two years.

Application Process

Applications must be submitted via the official application form:

Application Deadline

8 July 2022

The award will be announced at the ANZBMS Annual Scientific Meeting.


Prof Philip Sambrook
Prof Philip Sambrook

Past Recipients:


Sabashini Ramchand



Feitong Wu


Jasna Aleksova


Jinwen Tu - Report

Sharon Brennan - Report

Kirtan Ganda - Report

Emma Duncan - Report


Gustavo Duque - Report.