Grants and Awards
Christopher & Margie Nordin Young Investigator Poster Award


This Award is named in honour of the outstanding and major clinical investigations into disorders of bone and mineral metabolism made by Professor Christopher Nordin and his contributions to the ANZBMS. Professor B.E Christopher Nordin was a senior specialist at the Institute of Medical and Veterinary Science in Adelaide, and the man credited with drawing the medical community's attention back to the link between calcium deficiency and osteoporosis (brittle bones).

Prof. Nordin did his medical training at University College Hospital in London, graduating in 1950. In 1952, he went to Hammersmith Hospital, the postgraduate medical school, where he developed an interest in the link between calcium and bone strength. After more than 20 years in Britain, many as director of the Medical Research Council's Mineral Metabolism Unit in Leeds, Prof. Nordin moved to Adelaide in 1981 to take up a position at Royal Adelaide Hospital; where, instead of retirement, he wanted the excitement of setting up a new osteoporosis research group.

Professor Nordin was also the World Health Organisation's calcium expert, a visiting professor of medicine and pathology at the University of Adelaide and a emeritus specialist in endocrinology at Royal Adelaide Hospital. Prof. B.E.C. Nordin's work was honoured by the American Society of Bone and Mineral Research by the Frederick Bartter award in 1998.

Eligibility criteria for this award

The applicant must:

  • The applicant must be a financial member of ANZBMS at the time of the application.
  • The applicant must have made a substantial contribution to the work and be first and presenting author of the paper to be delivered at the ANZBMS 2018 Scientific Meeting.
  • The applicant must be currently undertaking work towards a higher degree (e.g. PhD, Masters, FRACP).



The Programme Organising Committee will be responsible for selecting a short list of candidates for this award on the basis of abstract quality. A panel of judges will assess the short-listed presentations at the conference to select the winners.

Award Amount


Application Deadline

5 July 2019

Becoming an ANZBMS member

If you are not currently an ANZBMS member you must apply for ANZBMS membership by 5 July 2019 to be eligible for this award. Membership information and application form can be found in the Membership section of this website.

Applying for this grant

Apply online when submitting your abstract at:




Margie & Prof Chris Nordin

Past recipients:


Alexander Rodriguez


Scott Youlten

Audrey Chan

Dzenita Muratovic - Clinical
Scott Youlten - Basic

Masato Koike

Yu Wen Su

Alvin Ng
Runner up
Marie-Luise Wille

Shek Man Chim

Kylie Alexander

Ee-Cheng Khor
Abstract (60KB)

Hasnawati Saleh
Abstract (71KB)

Taksum Cheng
Abstract (17KB)

Andrew Hattam 
Abstract (70KB)

Estabelle Ang
Abstract (80KB)

Mark Bolland &
Catherine Wang

Laura Gregory &
Mark Bolland

Nicole Walsh &
Rouha Granfar

Nathan Pavlos

Rebecca Jackson

Josef Kaplan

Tanya Uebergang

Marianne Holzherr

Anne Nelson &
Hidenori Murata