ANZBMS Kaye Ibbertson Award for Bone and Mineral Medicine

This Award is named in honour of the outstanding career and major investigations into skeletal disorders made by Professor Kaye Ibbertson, and his contributions to the ANZBMS.

Emeritus Professor Kaye Ibbertson was the Foundation Professor of Endocrinology at the University of Auckland and established the Department of Endocrinology at Auckland Hospital. He has personally trained most of New Zealand’s endocrinologists, as well as practitioners working further afield.

His clinical and research interests during the last 40 years encompass many aspects of endocrinology. He contributed substantially in the area of metabolic bone disease, in particular in Paget’s disease. He was involved in the early trials demonstrating the efficacy of calcitonin and etidronate. Subsequently he worked in collaboration with Professor Russell Fraser and Professor Olaf Bijvoet to demonstrate the enormous therapeutic potential of pamidronate in this condition. He also made important contributions to the literature in osteoporosis, acromegaly and thyroid disease (particularly with respect to iodine deficiency). Kaye is a thoughtful and gentle man whose legacy to endocrine practice and research has been substantial.

Eligibility Criteria
  • The applicant must have been a financial member of ANZBMS for at least 2 years at the time of the application.
  • Applicants with a higher degree (i.e.PhD or equivalent) should have completed this degree within the past 15 years (full-time equivalent).
Selection Criteria

(Please note, the selection criteria was updated 22nd June 2020):
The award is based on the productivity of the applicant, in terms of published clinical and/or basic research, in the field of metabolic bone disease. The award will be based on the applicant’s best 5 papers, of which the applicant is an author, in the last 8 years. The contribution/s of the applicant to each paper must be stated; it is not a requirement that the author is first on all 5 papers. Publications must be relevant to bone. The winner will be announced at the ANZBMS Annual Scientific Meeting.

Award Amount

$1000 AUD


Application Deadline

2 August 2024

To apply fill in the online Kaye Ibbertson Award Application Form.

Emeritus Prof 
Kaye Ibbertson

Past Recipients

Kai Chen 

Natalie Wee

John Kemp

David Scott

Fran Milat

Dawn Aitken

Feitong Wu

Michelle McDonald

Joshua Lewis
Rachelle Johnson

Nicole Yu

Tara Brennan-Speranza

Emma Duncan

Susannah O’Sullivan

Kun Zhu

Mark Bolland

Paul Baldock

Tania Winzenberg

Julie Pasco

Roger Zebaze