Course Details

Lecture Series

Day 1

  • Radiation in bone densitometry
  • Principles of bone mass measurement - DXA
  • Introduction to Statistics for Densitometry
  • Bone biology and the Epidemiology of Osteoporosis
  • Essential Anatomy/Interpretation of DXA
  • Essentials of Treatment of Osteoporosis
  • Workshop 1 (manufacturer specific)
  • Techniques of DXA scanning – acquisition and analysis
  • Interactive session with tutors

Day 2

  • Pitfalls of DXA
  • Lateral Vertebral Assessment (LVA)
  • Reporting DXA scans/Errors in reporting
  • Paediatric DXA and other extensions
  • Principles of bone mass measurement - Extensions
  • DXA Quality Assurance (QA/QC) & Information systems management in DXA
  • Professional Issues In Densitometry
  • Workshop 2 (manufacturer specific)
  • Techniques of DXA scanning (Interactive sessions with tutors)
    • Advanced DXA (manufacturer specific)
    • HRpQCT and pQCT
    • Body Composition
    • Advanced reporting and treatment


CPD Points

Continuing Professional Development (CPD) points for this course are approved by the following professional bodies:
  •  0.5 points/hour from AIR (category B). The course has 16 contact hours giving a total of 8 points
  • 29 points from the RANZCR
  • The ANZAPNM and the ESA as part of the RANZCP have a standard number of points for training meetings and accept the course for CPD
  • 4 points from the ANZSNM


Course participants are required to organise their own accommodation.

EPA Details

Completing this course satisfies the requirements of radiation safety legislation in most Australian states and ARPANSA for licencing of DXA operators. Please consult your state Environment Protection Authority (EPA) Radiation Protection Branch or equivalent, see websites below.

South Australian residents may sit an additional SA EPA approved on-line examination covering legislation to obtain a DXA operator licence. This requires an 80% pass mark in addition to passing the ANZBMS examination.

South Australia -
Victoria -
New South Wales -
Queensland -
Western Australia -
Tasmania - 
NT -
New Zealand -