Professor Philip Sambrook Young Investigator Travel Award Applications for 2017

Professor Sambrook OAM was the inaugural Medical Director of Osteoporosis Australia and past President of the Australian and New Zealand Bone and Mineral Society. He made an immense contribution to research and public awareness about bone health and osteoporosis in Australia, and the benefits of his commitment and passion for will be felt for years to come.

The Professor Philip Sambrook Award is a travel grant awarded annually to an outstanding early career investigator. The award offers a valuable opportunity for a young researcher to make careeradvancing connections with the international bone research community. Both laboratory scientists and clinical researchers are encouraged to apply.

The OA-ANZBMS Research Fund is now seeking applications from scientists or clinical researchers who have received their research or clinical qualification within the last 5 years.

The Awardee will receive up to \$10,000 in support of:

- Attendance to present at an international conference in a relevant discipline, including registration, economy airfares, accommodation costs and a daily living allowance; and
- Attendance at the joint meeting of the ANZBMS and the International Federation of Musculoskeletal Research Societies, Brisbane, 17-21 June, 2017 (including registration, economy airfares and accommodation costs).

The Awardee will also receive a commemorative award at the above meeting.

Who can apply for the award?

To be eligible, the investigators must:

- Be within 5 years of having received their most recent research or medical qualifications;
- Have submitted an abstract to present either an oral or poster presentation at an international conference in a relevant discipline.
- Be a member of the ANZBMS or the ARA.

How do I apply?

Applications should be submitted via the **application form** available from the Osteoporosis Australia website. Submissions must be no longer than 2 pages and include the abstract and a budget for the trip. Applications must be received by 28 April, 2017.

Applications will be assessed by representatives of Osteoporosis Australia, the ANZBMS and the Australian Rheumatology Association.

Osteoporosis Australia reserves the right not to grant the award in the event that the committee does not receive an application from a suitable candidate.

For more details go to **www.osteoporosis.org.au** or call Dr Lisa Croucher on **02 9518 8140** or email **research@osteoporosis.org.au**

Corporate donors \$50,000





\$15,000



* ______ SERVIER

S MSD

\$5,000

AMGEN"

U NOVARTIS

Roche

Personal donors

Up to \$1,000

Ms Elizabeth Chisholm Dr Irwin Lim Ms Katrina Rathie Ms Heather Zampatti Anonymous (1)

Up to \$500

Dr Jian Sheng Chen Dr Peter Ebeling Dr Leon Flicker Dr Matthew Gillespie Dr Donald Gutteridge Dr Charles Inderjeeth Dr Deborah Kerr Dr Stephen Lord

Up to \$250

Dr Belinda Beck Ms Mary Bouxsein Dr Jackie Center Ms Melita Daru Mr Ralph Evans Ms Shelley Evans Ms Vicky Hatzis Dr David Hosking Dr Miklos Kerecz Dr David Little Dr Rebecca S Mason Dr Kerrie Sanders Dr Markus Seibel Dr Natalie Sims Dr Sonia Stanton Mr Anthony Suen





For more details please download the application form from our website **www.osteoporosis.org.au** or call Dr Lisa Croucher on **02 9518 8140** or email **research@osteoporosis.org.au**